Posted by: tranalist | February 9, 2007

Nothing like a good book!

I hadn’t realized how long it’d been since I’d picked up and read through a good novel. I quickly grabbed Harriet Beecher Stowe’s, “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” on my way out the door to the airport when I went to visit Steve.                         

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Let me tell you, it is one fantastic novel. All of the sudden I remembered how passionate I used to be about reading and writing. English class was always my favorite. I was considered an excellent writer with an ability to really see deeply into the themes and tone of a novel. I don’t say it to brag, but to lament the forgotten talent. There was a great monologue given by one of the characters in the novel that inspired me to pick up a pen, dust off a notebook, and actually write about the thoughts and feelings the passionate speech stirred in me, just like back in Junior year honors English class.

                                                                                                                                                                                                               What is fascinating to me is that the novel is so much more than just a book about slavery. She explores and presents a myriad of views and ideas that I’ve rarely, if ever, come across in other novels written about the same subject. And her characters are some of the most unique I’ve found in quite some time.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 There seems to be something more magical about novels written a century ago vs. novels written today. The language is different, the feeling is different, the words are different! I’m actually being challenged to recall words that haven’t been used in my vocabulary since I left high school — words like “sanctimonious,” “askance,” and “garrulous.” Brain stimulation!Woohoo. It feels great.

                                                                                                                                                                                                               With the seldom cloudy weather southern California has been experiencing lately, having a good book to read is a great excuse to stay inside, comfy cozy on the couch, and read till my little heart’s content. Now all I need is a fire in the fireplace and I’m set.

Responses

  1. So you gonna crack open the Grudem, and really expand the ole vocab? Nothing in the world like a good book.

  2. My life would be an arid place without books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

