Posted by: tranalist | February 26, 2007

Some of My Favorite Faces #4

This one’s been long overdue…my family…the krazy, klever, kondescending, komical Kincers.

 First, we’ve got Daddio. Growing up, we’d sit around the kitchen table playing cards (hearts, poker, crazy 8’s) while pigging out on bean dip, Snickers bars, and his famous homemade fries.

I loved movie night. Every Tuesday we’d rent some movies and stop at the liquor store to get some “junk food.” I think I can thank him for a majority of the cavities I had in my childhood (kidding Pops). By the age of 8, he started asking me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I finally settled on “Garbage Man,” to jokingly tell him I had no idea.

Then there’s my step-mom, Becky, who is one amazing cook (and seamstress…she made me this awesome Raggedy Ann costume for Halloween one year). I can thank her for keeping me well fed on all holidays and I especially love her home made flour tortillas. Mmmm.

                                                                                                                                                                                                             Next, is the Madre, my ever encouraging mother, whom I can thank for my healthy self-esteem (although she’d argue that it can be a little too healthy at times 🙂 ).  When I’d walk out of my bedroom in the morning, clothes all rumpled, hair a tangled mess, she’d exclaim with the utmost sincerity, “Oh! I love your hair like that!!” I would look in the mirror, gasp at the horrifying reflection, and just laugh my head off. She always taught me about natural beauty and how it comes from within—good lessons to be taught when growing up the image based society that I lived in.  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Then there’s all my sibling.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Scott, Rick, Ryan, Jesse, Amy, James & Jordan (I fall in after Amy)

                                                                                                                                                                                                               That makes 8 of us all together. One big, happy, crazy family. I only get to see most of them around the holidays, because all but 3 are married with families of their own (I’ll let you guess which 3).  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I used to think that Scott could control traffic lights by snapping his fingers. I always did wonder why he wouldn’t change it right away so that we could get moving, but was satisfied with his, “Cause I don’t feel like it” reply. Rick was a daredevil. Watching videos of him jumping off of skyscrapers was a trip. Ryan made a small fortune off of us as kids by creating a carnival type game where we’d throw our pocket change into plastic cups from a designated distance. Our prize? No, not money. It was something better—paper airplanes (I know…highway robbery). Jesse always had things up his nose…what he could fit in there was amazing and remains legendary to this very day. Amy and I would spend hours in our sorry excuse for a tree-house or making a bow and arrow so we could play Island of the Blue Dolphins in the backyard. James and Jordan would chase me around after I “stole their noses.” I quickly learned that this game was too real for them when they start crying and begging for their noses back. We never played it much after that.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Yup, I love my family. We Kincers are an interesting bunch, each one of us different from the next. So many memories and stories to tell…maybe I should write a book about it.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     I love you guys!

Responses

  1. Wow, great seeing them all together. I know exactly half!! Guess I’ll have to come back for another visit now.

  2. You sure do Chicken, and I’ll come for a visit with you…now that this isn’t gonna be my home 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

