Posted by: tranalist | February 27, 2007

I love the rain

I woke up early this morning to the pleasant sound of rain drumming against my window and the wind rustling the leaves in the trees. I knew it was going to be a good day. I love the rain. We don’t get much of it in California, but I sure welcome it when it comes.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                My favorite thing to do when I finally pull myself out of bed is to sit on the couch in the living room and stare out of the big sliding glass door at the trees that pose as a backdrop. Life suddenly becomes still…everything is quiet…I let my mind wander…sometimes for hours if there aren’t any interruptions. It always amazes me what comes to mind when I allow myself time to just stop and breath.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     All too soon, the sun has started breaking through the grey clouds, awakening everyone from their temporary slumber. The birds start chirping, the cars start honking, the sun starts shining. I wish it would stay overcast for at least an entire day. I know that people up in Seattle type places complain of depression from too little sunshine; is there such a thing as depression from too much sunshine?

                                                                                                                                                                                                                      —-

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  On a completely unrelated topic, I’ve decided to take along my sketchbook, pencils, charcoals, and pastels to Canada. They had been neatly tucked away in a moving box headed for storage, but when I came across them as I shuffled through that box one last time, I felt inspired and pulled them out.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I haven’t drawn since high school…some 6 years ago. I loved art class. There was a group of us students, about 5 or 6, who Mr. Stanton allowed to be in the “special art class,” which meant we got to sit outside of his classroom and draw whatever the heck we wanted, whenever the heck we wanted. All he asked was for a certain amount of work throughout the semester and that the quality be good. We had a blast. We would laugh, and joke, and do homework, and draw. I discovered that I really did have a smidgen of talent (nothing compared to the Claudia Brown type whose work was stellar) and that I really did enjoy this medium.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     I figure that with my new surroundings in Canada, where trees and seasons exist, I might find myself inspired to draw again.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                         —-

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 I’m also taking along my dad’s old Nikkormat EL from the 70’s. In the age of digital photography, film is still fun every once in awhile when I’m feeling inspired. Actually, I haven’t ever really felt inspired since he gave it to me 5 years ago. I took it, not because I knew anything about how to use this sort of camera, but because I thought it was cool. It had history and was another way for me to express my creative side, if I ever got around to it.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    A simple battery replacement got it working again, a quick lesson from an Internet site, and I was off. I should have taken a few more lessons. My pictures turned out horrible and I eventually stuffed it back under the bed where it waited to be discovered again when my willingness to actually teach myself how to use it returned. Well, it’s back and the old Nikkormat is coming along with me for the journey (along with 4 rolls of film for testing purposes).  

                                                                                                                

Leave a Reply

Categories

