Posted by: tranalist | March 9, 2007

It was a good day

Yesterday I spent the entire day on the couch waiting on God. Sad to say, but this was new to me…not the spending time with God, but the spending all day with Him and enjoying it. I didn’t move from the couch at all, except to eat when I realized at 3 in the afternoon I probably should (Steve says I need to take care of myself, so I’m making more of an effort). It’s amazing how the hours slip by when you’re praying, or reading the bible, or listening to teachings via the Internet (thank goodness for Internet!). I felt like I had accomplished so much, like I had worked an entire day. I know that moments like these are rare and therefore precious and not to be taken for granted.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 My friend Jesse had suggested I listen to some teachings from a conference type meeting she and gone to, so yesterday I downloaded a couple of messages by Rob Rufus, a pastor of a church in Hong Kong. His message on grace was, well, right in line with my heart. If you have an hour to kill, I’d encourage you to check it out: Rob Rufus 2/2/07

                                                                                                                                                                                                                    I’ve also been reading the book Living By The Book, by Howard & William Hendricks, recommended to me by Sylvia. I am really, really enjoying it! It’s amazing that I’ve grown up in the church my entire life and somehow never really learned how to study the Bible in such a way that you enjoy it! Well, that’s not entirely true…I’ve read the Bible through a couple of times and do enjoy it and learn a lot from it, but the points Hendricks makes in the book gives me a new perspective when approaching the Bible and somehow the scriptures are becoming more alive than they were before.

Leave a Reply

Categories

