Posted by: tranalist | April 19, 2007

Canadian Homecoming

As I mentioned before, I arrived in Canada safe and sound. Peter (the dad) and Andria (the sister/friend) met me at the airport with big hugs. The drive back across the border went without a hitch. I love talking to the border workers:

Border Man: Are you carrying anything across the border?

Lara: Well ya, clothes, a computer, some books…

Border Man: Any perishableitems: fruit, tobacco, etc?

Lara: Oh, no sir.

We drive off. I forgot to mention the bag of oatmeal cookies my mom had made me. I’m a law breaker. I hope they’ll excuse me.

When we got back to the house, I was given my first gift as we gorged ourselves on oatmeal chocolate chip cookies: a snowball saved from the latest snowfall. I had to get dressed properly before I was able to handle such a gift.

The first week was all about settling in and catching up with Andria. We went on a couple of walks, I watched her chop her hair off into a cute bob, we watched a lot of Conan and Oprah, and found ourselves laughing hysterically at the the ridiculous things that would come out of our mouths. One night, quite unconsciously, I was repeating under my breath different words an Australian interviewee was saying to brush up on my Aussy accent [Austraaaaalia, Mum, proe-gress]. It wasn’t until Andria started laughing at me that I realized what I was doing, and I also realize after sharing this latest detail with you, it really was one of those “you had to be there” kind of moments. Take my word for it…it was funny.

One day we took a day trip to Grand Bend, a quaint tourist town located on the shore of Lake Huron. It was one of the warmer days and I got to see what most Canadians call “the beach.” Their beaches are much different from the California ones I’m used to:

  • It’s fresh water
  • There are no waves
  • It’s freezing (that may be due to me visiting in late winter/early spring)
  • Oh, and IT’S A LAKE!

I did have quite a lot of fun taking pictures, seeing mini-icebergs, and realizing why they’re called the great lakes. It was one of those “duh” moments for me.

Later that day, Andria and I walked around this huge horse farm not too far from their house. It had everything I love: tree lines roads, weathered wooden-fenced pastures, and a pond in the middle of it.

And this concludes my first week in the lovely Canadian countryside.

Leave a Reply

Categories

