Posted by: tranalist | April 26, 2007

All I wanted was some Chow mien!

Yesterday was what is typically known as: the day from hell.

Oh, it started off just great. Steve made eggies in a basket (toast with eggs cooked into a neat little hole in the middle), I did some bible reading, we did some job hunting, and then around 2pm, everything went downhill when Steve forgot that I was planning on taking him out to dinner that night and told the madre we’d be be at the house for dinner.

She was making pork chops.

I took it personal, was hurt he’d forgotten, and bothered he didn’t discuss it with me first. When I found out a few minutes later that he had instantly remembered our date, it was too late, my bad mood had begun.

“We can still go out.”

“No, it doesn’t sound like fun anymore!”

To get me in a better mood, Steve suggested we rent a car. When we found the cheapest rate after much Internet perusing, we arranged a ride into London, with barely enough time to get there.

Getting lost put me in an even fouler mood (I wasn’t even attempting to look on the bright side of any situation at this point). After getting directions from a gas station, we walked into the car rental store and were told they didn’t have the car for us.

“Sorry, we don’t have any economy cars left, but you can spend X-amount on an upgrade to our mid-size.”

“But that’s not what we reserved online.”

“I’m sorry, but you can pay the extra $20 for the upgrade.”

Steve stood there amazed; I stood there with my frown growing. I’ve never been told to pay for the upgrade when the rental company was unable to accommodate an online reservation. Bad business in my mind.

We got home feeling defeated and Steve asked if I still would like to go out. I finally agreed. We walked downtown and the place I wanted to take him was only serving takeout. We puzzled over whether to just settle with takeout or to try out the Chinese food place across the street. We settled on dining in.

BIG MISTAKE.

We ordered a meal with chow mien. Since I’ve been here, I’ve been unable to find a place that serves chow mien, so you can imagine my excitement when the menu contained my much desired noodle dish.

Like most California-Americans, I was expecting egg noodles mixed with random veggies and the occasional beansprout. Something that looked like this:

When this was what was set down in front of me instead, I almost started crying.

I wanted to shake my fist at the heavens and cry out “Why me?!” in a voice as dramatic as Charlton Heston’s when he realized that soylent green was made out of people…people!

But seriously, this was just icing on the cake of Lara’s bad luck blues.

Could this day get any worse?

The answer was yes. Steve saw how upset and disappointed I was that this restaurant had decided that chop suey and chow mein were the same thing, that he went to my rescue by ordering me a noodle plate.

I was cheered up until the new dish was set down in front of me, then I think a tear did escape.

It was the most unappetizing looking plate of food–and those of you who know me, know that I am not a picky eater. Ghostly white noodles that looked and tasted like Top Roman, veggies that looked diseased, colorless, and uncooked and unflavored chicken pieces that made me wonder if sucking the juice and all the nutrients out of a chicken with a syringe was possible.

Everything we got was served cold, dry, and flavorless. It was the worst $30 bucks I’d spent in a long time.

We packed up what was left and headed home after stopping at a local ice creamery for some soft-serve, which cheered me up some–those of you who know me know that I love ice cream.

Lucky for me, Steve was a saint through it all and we laugh about it pretty hard now.

The next day we ate the leftovers and got to relive the torture of bad food all over again!

Responses

  1. Oh I’ve had those days too…glad you guys can laugh about it now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

