Posted by: tranalist | May 18, 2007

One of those days

So today I realized that I don’t really get homesick for “home,” but I do get homesick for what’s “familiar.”

It was just one of those days, so I decided to drive to London and go shopping. I wasn’t even planning on buying anything, just the thought of walking through an Old Navy felt good.

And it was. I even bought a t-shirt for $3.99 on clearance.

Since the shops here close around 9pm, I had to rush through the dressing room part of my shopping excursion. Probably was better that way, spent less.

On my way home I passed by a Starbucks. I started craving a hot chocolate. At the Tim Horton’s (which is the equivalent of a Starbucks in the states, because there’s one on every corner), they don’t serve hot chocolate with milk; they use water instead.

Boo.

I turned my car around, walked into the Starbucks, got my drink, sat on the comfy couches, and enjoyed the feeling of familiarity.

And boy was the hot chocolate good!

Thanks Canada for allowing good ol’ American capitalism into your country. It really made my day.

Responses

  1. When I first moved here I rode the subway an hour to Brooklyn just to walk through Target. I spent a good couple of hours there and walked every single aisle! It felt so warm and cozy, even smelled familiar. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to the next time we can chat. Big Hug!

  2. It’s so nice to know that I’m not alone (or weird).

    I can totally relate to that need. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. this is so true… a lot so for me as well since i don’t actually have much of a home anymore. it’s that time of life where you don’t really feel like you belong anywhere. but it is most definitely a longing for things that are familiar.. good thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

