Posted by: tranalist | August 1, 2007

Cruising Up Highway 1

In January, Sylvia finally made it out for a visit. A 24 hour drive straight through from Texas to Cali landed a pretty tired and pretty hungry Sylvia at my doorstep. Thanks McDonald’s for helping.

A week or so into her trip, we decided to throw caution (and $$) to the wind and head up the coast for a spontaneous road trip.

Our first stop was at some random beach on the way up to Santa Barbara.

After this video, Road Trip Rule #1 was passed: Though shalt not insult the travel partner. [No hard feelings Sylvia πŸ™‚ ]

In San Luis Obisbo, we stopped at a mission (sort of interesting), then found our way to “Bubble Gum Alley” (my kind of interesting).

Yup, it’s an alley FULL of people’s A.B.C. gum creations. You can be sure I left my mark on the wall.

We stayed the night in Cambria. I got to see an old college buddy of mine and Sylvia got to see her sunset.

The next day it was off to Carmel-by-the-Sea and the 17-Mile Drive.

Not one to be daunted by the windy, bone-chilling weather, I braved the beach and its mighty wind.

And then I broke Road Trip Rule #1 again.

There were so many beautiful places we stopped and took pictures at that there is no way I can include them all, but here’s a taste of what we saw.

Thanks Sylvia for a loverly time.

Responses

  1. We have to do this again!!!

    But why are you so mean to me :(. Ok, that doesn’t work without the pouty accent. But in my head…it was funny.

    Next time lets do it in warm weather… and get farther north….and skip the pathetic hotel in Carmel with frustrating internet and no heat….but otherwise, yeah, let’s do it AGAIN.

  2. uh ya! It’s a must. And San Fran is our minimum goal. I’ll have loads of vacation time with this new job πŸ™‚ So, now all that needs to happen is for you to find as lovely a position as I have (well…we’ll see).

  3. Tag you’re it…I answered on my blog, cause I don’t the etiquette either.

  4. well this looks like it was quite splendid!!

  5. great post! I really love the pictures and how they are set up.. it really gives a good indication of the trip! Really amazing..

  6. […] for the state I’ve lived in my entire life began back in January when Sylvia and I took our road trip up the coast…gorgeous…and my latest venture has continued to leave me […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

