Posted by: tranalist | August 18, 2007

Strumming my guitar

Today was my very first guitar lesson and it was awesome.

When I was 18 I mentioned to my mom that I’d like to learn guitar and she surprised me with one for my birthday. I set out teaching myself, but when I hit the F chord, I couldn’t get it down and sort of walked away from it all (silly I know…but I was 18!).

The desire to learn never left me. Every so often I would pick it up and strum a few simple chords and God’s presence would come where I’d have to choke back tears.

When I went to New Orleans last year, there was a stranger at the mission who came up to me and asked, “Are you on the worship team? Do you play an instrument?” to which I answered, “No and no.” He looked at me and said, “You’re a worshiper. You should look into it.”

For me, it was confirmation. I had always had this secret love of worship and a desire to learn guitar. Enough people were beginning to mention stuff like this to me that I couldn’t ignore it anymore.

I knew I needed lessons (why I couldn’t be like my brother Ryan who can pick up any instrument and play it, I’ll never know), but $$ made it impossible.

So, I simply started praying for free guitar lessons and you know what, God provided. He led me to a church where there is a man who loves to teach us young’ins out of the goodness of his heart.

How’s that for a praise report? Let me hear an AMEN! 🙂

Responses

  1. Amen, sister! You keep practicing and praying, God will provide, He always does.

    Don’t give up on the F chord!

    God bless,
    Chad


Leave a Reply

Categories

