Posted by: tranalist | September 3, 2007

Leading a not-so-normal normal life

I was telling a friend today on the phone how I’ve finally come to terms with a 6 year battle of mine. People like my friend and I know that we are made to live a more unconventional lifestyle, however as spry 18-year-olds, one isn’t quite sure what to do with that knowledge.

What God has been teaching me over these past couple of months has brought me utter peace to what used to be a very bleak outlook on life.

I remember crying to my mom about how the thought of having to work a 9-5 job for 40 years, only to retire and then be too old to really live out the things my spirit is desiring to do just scared me to the brink of complete debilitation. As a mother she tried to do her best to calm and comfort me.

So, for 6 years I walked around going after what I thought would free me from the bonds of a life-draining routine. Nothing worked. My spirit remained unhappy and unfulfilled. And then, when going through a very hard breakup that made me get on my face before God and rely on Him to pull me out of what could have been a spiraling depression, I learned one of the greatest lessons of my life thus far.

I finally said, “Ok Lord, what do YOU want me to do? Where do YOU want me to end up? Where do YOU want me heading in life? What desires have YOU put on my heart? What do YOU want me to look back on and be thankful I did with my life?”

I had finally learned to surrender to whatever answer I would hear and go with it. Then God gave me a fuzzy life map. For the first time I had direction! It wasn’t crystal clear, but it was something!

The right doors began opening for me so that I can begin learning the skills that will take me where I’m tentatively planning on ending up. I’m working the 9-5. I’m doing the daily routine that I so loathed in the past. But this time I’m happy and excited and I know it’s because for the first time in my life I am certain that I am walking in God’s will. And that is freakin’ awesome.

Instead of saying to God, “I am going to go here and you can follow after me,” I’m asking where He is wanting to lead me and I am gladly following.

There’s freedom and peace in being obedient to what God’s called you to do. Every so often I’ll be sitting at my desk at work and giggle from pure joy. I don’t know how long God’s going to keep me at this particular location, but in the meantime I’m going to enjoy it and make the most of it. I know that I’m learning valuable skills and lessons on the job and in life that are equipping me for the future (and the fact that guitar is part of it is just icing on the cake).

I’m excited. I’m thankful. And for people like my friend and I, boy is it comforting to know that we can be living these “normal” lives while knowing that we are in fact still leading a not-so-normal normal life, because as soon as God says it’s time to move on, our suitcases will be packed and the plane tickets bought.

Responses

  1. Yippeee for being not normal!!

  2. I just clicked the link titled home grown sage, thinking I’ll see how much the little dud has grown….boy was I surprised. Sage is Marcia…baby ruth is Sage….I’m so comfuuuuused!!!

    Wake up chicken!!! Let’s skype today if it gets quiet….

  3. Amen Sister!

  4. For I know the

    PLANS

    I Have For You
    Says The Lord …
    To Give You

    HOPE

    and a

    FUTURE.

    Jeremiah 29:11

  5. Amen to that!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

