Posted by: tranalist | December 3, 2007

A toast to feeling adequate

Twas a week of trials and triumph for the three girls sitting ’round the table eating tacos. Girl’s night conversation revealed each had faced difficult situations on the job or with a relationship…situations that had brought anger, then tears, then feelings of inadequacy. Each friend encouraged the other while discussing the lessons learned and how to better handle future situations. Then a toast was made to feeling adequate and laughter followed.

I had been told some pretty horrible things this week by someone I had considered a friend, which made me lose my cool and respond in anger, something I’m not proud of. I now know exactly what it is that causes me to react like this…but that’s for another time.

In the end, I learned a very valuable lesson. It revealed what was in my heart…that though I’ve been on a journey of learning how to love as Jesus loves, there were ugly areas that still remained.

What is love? Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.

I’m holding onto that one. Even though you can love someone with all you have, in the end, they can refuse it. Since love doesn’t fail, then loving them from a distance and loving them in prayer is what I will do and hope that someday this broken relationship will be mended.

Responses

  1. well done, dude


Leave a Reply

Categories

