Posted by: tranalist | December 12, 2007

On the road with nowhere to go

Today’s event reminded me of the driving must haves while in California.

  1. A good book or
  2. A guitar

I was on my way to bible study tonight when I found myself 3 rows back from where a cop had stopped traffic. I tuned into to KFI and found out that there was a potential suicide jumper on the overpass just a hundred yards in front of me.

Knowing this could easily turn into a long night, I turned off the ignition, and contemplated my options. I didn’t have a book, so I did the next best thing–I grabbed my guitar, got comfy on my hood, and started playing. It was the most enjoyable 45 minute shutdown-freeway-suicide-jumper night I’ve ever experienced…okay…so it was also the only shutdown-freeway-suicide-jumper night I’ve ever experienced.

A jovial man named Frank in the next lane over smiled at me and my guitar and exclaimed, “Only in California. I might as well check my email and if I had a camera, I’d take a picture of this.” I quickly solved that problem and we laughed as he captured the night in a snapshot, then proceeded to call Eyewitness News to see if I could become news famous. I was out of luck…they don’t cover suicides or even potential ones.

Responses

  1. That is so incredibly random! I love that you just decided to bust out your guitar. Way to make a negative into a positive. Hope all is well with you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

