Posted by: tranalist | February 4, 2008

A new swing in my step

Saying, “God’s been doing a lot in my life” would be an understatement. It’s been one of those revelatory seasons where it seems everyday brings new understanding, new growth, increasing clarity, and spiritual intimacy.

I could say it began a few weeks ago when I went forward for prayer to be “re-released” in the prophetic. It’s a gifting that God seems to use me in, but I had shut it off for a while thinking that the things God was speaking to me about others needed to be prayed through and not necessarily spoken. Then I happened upon 1 Corinthians 14 “Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you may prophesy…he who prophesies speaks edification and exhortation and comfort to men.” God gives us the prophetic gift to encourage one another, and that comes primarily through sharing what you’re being told. Of course, wisdom and discernment, love and humility need to be exercised at all times, but one must also use the gift to nurture it.

When you keep yourself open to however God wishes to use you, it is so awesome to see how He can change people’s lives. One night a man asked for prayer. A group of us surrounded him, and I kept hearing a particular phrase over and over in my head. When I shared it with him, this grown man began to weep. Approaching me later, he shared that what had been spoken was confirmation and had helped set him free from what he had been struggling with.

I’m not sharing this to toot my own horn–quite the opposite. I’m sharing this to encourage us to be open to how God wants to use us. We are to desire all the spiritual gifts. If we remain open to being his vessel, people’s lives can be impacted and radically changed. That’s what I want to see–a church who walks in humility and intimacy with God, who understands that He is the potter and we are the clay, and that no matter what age, what gender, what race, how rich or how poor, we can be used by Him to set people free.

So, yes, He keeps giving me small pieces of ways He wants to use me. It’s like a giant jigsaw puzzle that will only be completed when my time here is over. I no longer see this as a scary or annoying thing. It’s what makes the adventure. We walk by faith, each day by faith, being content in the here and now, while being open to the unknown future.

In the interim, I will tuck the things God is speaking to me in my heart to be called upon at a later date, when the timing is right.

Leave a Reply

Categories

