Posted by: tranalist | February 14, 2008

Yo hablo espanol

After many months, OK, years, of putting it off, I have finally decided to hunker down and start learning Spanish. Why? Because I like to constantly be learning, language is fun, knowledge of it will help in breaking down cultural barriers, I like to travel and can’t count on having a translator with me at all times.

For a while, I was debating between learning Spanish or French. I was one of the 20 or so freshman in our 500+ freshman class, who opted to take French in high school. My motivation: the rumor of an apathetic teacher with very little class presentation requirements. I was deathly afraid of public speaking back then.

Of course it would make sense for me to stick with French, except that I don’t live in Canada where it’s an official second language. No, I live in the USA where Spanish should be the official second language, but is only unofficially considered as such.

I wish I had had such super reasoning skills when I was 14. I’d probably be fluent by now.

But that’s water under the bridge.

So, I have my CD’s, I have my book, and I have to say, I think it’s going rather well so far. I can already say short phrases like, “Traigame una taza de te” or “Quisiera un poco de fruta.”

Pretty impressive hey?

Well, at least it’s a start. Now I just need to find some friends who speak the language well enough practice what is known as immersion.

Wish me luck.

Responses

  1. Best of luck to you! I really wish I had paid more attention in my spanish classes back in HS…I have almost no knowledge left.

    And why oh why would we make spanish our official second language when we don’t even have an official first language? That’s yet another one of those oddities about our nation.

  2. Ah, irony, after our conversation about spanish Sunday night.

    When I went to work today, I resumed working on a problem that’s been vexing me for awhile. I finally found a web page that has relevant info, but as you can see, it’s in spanish. And google’s automatic translator is blocked at work.

    Thing is, I actually understood most of it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

