Posted by: tranalist | February 24, 2008

Breakfast with Andy

My guitar teacher forced…uh…rather urged me to attend a worship conference this weekend. He said, “Andy Park will be there and I think it’d be great for you to hear him.”

My reaction: who’s Andy Park?

As I later learned, he’s a very well known singer/songwriter in the Christian circles and we can thank him for songs like “In The Secret” and “Only You.” What I loved most about him was his awesome humility; you never would have known that his songs are being sung in churches all over the world. He has so much wisdom to offer regarding worship leading and his main advice was:

-Love must be at the heart of what you’re doing, and
-Stay humble

I’d say those are two lessons I’ve been learning a lot lately.

He also did this amazing thing with his pick while he was playing that had me in awe the entire set. When he would transition from strumming to picking, he’d hide his pick somewhere in his fingers, then magically have it reappear to jump right back into strumming again! This might be a well known technique for most guitar players, but he had this chicky amazed.

I took a “Song Writing 101” workshop, which was great. The teacher had us pair off, then pick a subject we wanted to write on. My partner and I chose holiness. Then he had us write 4 lines about that subject, which is a freaking hard thing to do when you’re not feeling inspired.

Once each group had their lines written, he picked up his guitar and started playing a simple melody and told us to sing our lines to the melody, and each group took their turn singing their “song.” It was so much fun and such a great way for us to get our feet wet.

And the best part was, our song didn’t turn out half bad.

Nicole, I think we’re onto something!

Leave a Reply

Categories

