Posted by: tranalist | April 18, 2008

The blind man

I saw a blind man today.

Everything inside me wanted to run up to him and ask if I could pray for him.

“Do you believe in God? Do you believe he can make you see? May I pray for you?”

My faith was there. I knew God could heal him. I knew He wanted to heal him.

But I didn’t stop.

As soon as my friend and I reached the corner, I knew I needed to go back, so I turned around.

He wasn’t there.

I forgot about him until I came home and had my debriefing for the day with God. The blind man came back to my mind. I cried. My faith was so strong, but not strong enough.

“You must be the change you desire to see in the world.” That’s what Ghandi so wisely shared. How will people ever come to know the awesome power of God unless someone allows themselves to be used by Him?

We have to take the first step to allow God to meed us halfway. He’s just waiting for our boldness to rise up.

A blind man could have gained his sight today, but I was too afraid to approach him.

Rejection, fear, lack of faith.

I can’t continue to just walk by these people when I know His power! But I continue to do it. Day after day.

I hate that. I really, really hate that.

I’m so sorry. Next time, God. Please, let there be a next time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

