Posted by: tranalist | July 6, 2008

Festivities, Fun Parks, Fourth of July & Photo Shoots

My birthday marked yet another holiday without the madre, but my friends and family were there to step in and make my special day extra special.

I walked into work to a totally decked out cubicle, complete with fun decor, flowers, presents, and chocolate covered potato chips (which are awesome by the way). My co-workers are wonderful people and really went the extra mile. I’m so appreciative.

I spent the evening with a good friend who treated me to Thai food and I then treated her to Coldstone (I had a gift card). A few days later, my college friends took me to a fancy dinner at an outdoor restaurant in Old Town.

I was given an extravagant gift from a couple of friends for my birthday–a Canon Rebel–a camera I only dreamed of owning. Since then, I’ve gotten to act as official photographer at two work events, and did a photo shoot for possible website photos for the Pasadena church plant. Boy was that a learning experience. Out of the 500 photos taken, I think I managed to get 5 good ones.

For the Fourth of July this year, I decided to mix things up a bit and went to Knott’s Berry Farm with Melissa. We had a great time! The park was surprisingly uncrowded. I must have grown up a bit since my last visit to the Park some 10 years ago, because I wasn’t nearly as scared of the drops as I used to be. Our big disappointment: we didn’t get to see Snoopy.

Afterward, I headed down to Elsinore to spend the evening at my friend’s family BBQ. We got to cool off in the pool, eat a bunch of yummy food, then went out on the lake to watch a fireworks show. We returned to a table full of dessert, and finished off the night sitting around telling (and making up) ridiculous jokes (which still make me laugh out loud when I think about them).

What do you call a man with no arms and no legs floating in water? Bob.

What do you call a man with no arms and no legs with a basketball game going on in his belly? Jim.

What do you call a man with no arms and no legs who runs into things? Clyde.

Oh yes, they were good jokes and we laughed pretty hard.

The next morning my friends and I dared the heat of Elsinore and went horseback riding. We had a blast. They were pretty good riders for having only been on a horse a handful of times. We raced a few times–I won thanks to the Thoroughbred I was on. Then my dad treated us to lunch at a local Mexican restaurant, which was special treat.

After cooling off in the pool, my friend and I decided to drive down to San Diego for a mutual friend’s sister’s 21st birthday party. I hadn’t seen this girl in years and it was so cool to see how God can transform a person’s life.

Now it’s Sunday afternoon and I’m exhausted and very sore, and can’t wait to go out riding again.

Responses

  1. Sounds like some good times.

    And you are just way too cute in those pictures.

  2. Wow sounds like a great birthday full of the most important things: friends, family, food and all those activities! Horseback riding, swimming, parties. You are so much fun. I’m glad that things are going well. I am going to be coming down to CA for a week in October and I would really like to get together, maybe even with some of the other ladies from Sonora. Let me know what you think. Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

