Posted by: tranalist | August 25, 2008

Donut dives & coffee shops

It seems the tides are turning—and for the better! For a while, when I asked newly married couples if their first year was hard, I was, more often than not, met with a resounding, “YES!” But lately, I’ve been hearing a resounding “No!” which does my heart good.

A couple weeks ago, I spent the better part of my Sunday with one such couple. They were so fun to be around, because you could tell they loved one another and truly enjoyed each others company. We drove to a dive donut shop, stuffing our faces with way too many of those delectable desserts as we caught up on wedding, honeymoon and post-honeymoon details.

Then it was back to their place for more conversation and laughter…so much laughter. They had such a way of making me feel at home, so much so that at one point I stood up mid-sentence and (please excuse the following) proceeded to pick a murph.

As I sat back down, the husband interrupted me and said, “You don’t know how happy what you just did makes us.” No, he doesn’t particularly like watching people fix their unruly undies; he saw it as me feeling comfortable in their home and in their company. And he was right.

I learn so much from people like this. It’s great being around them!

____

This week I’ve been spending a lot of time catching up with old friends. Today, I had coffee with a college girlfriend of mine who I hadn’t seen in 4 years (though we’ve been living but a few blocks from one another for the past year)! It was great.

We giggled at how ambitious we used to be while in school, how we were going to have an amazing career and make lots of money. Now, our attitudes are more along the lines of not wanting to be a slave to our job, and just wanting to be moms. They still exist right? 🙂

I thought it was so cute that over the years she’s been keeping current with my goings on via this blog (people do read it!) Michelly, I forgot to snap a photo to document this momentous occasion. Make sure I do it at the wedding; you deserve to be web-famous. Thanks for the good times today. And I forgot to tell you, that I still always think of you every time I hear Mercy Me’s song, “I Can Only Imagine.” Remember that?!

____

Last but not least, September 3rd Lara will be heading back to school! Over the summer, my work asked us to make a personal goal to accomplish over the next year. Mine was to learn Spanish (self teaching wasn’t working as fast as I would like). So now, I’ll be taking classes at the local JC.

Along with Spanish, I’ve signed up for a Photography class. My schedule will be quite full, but I’m excited to be learning again. I should be able to suck anything up for 3 months, right? Then during the Winter Intercession, Michelly and I are planning on doing conversational Spanish together. How fun.

Responses

  1. That sounds like so much fun! I’m slightly jealous that you are going back to school. Part of me misses it. Perhaps that’s something I should do too. Just a class in the evenings. I took Spanish in college, but alas, it has slipped from conversational to barely coherent. Someday I plan to fix that. Anyway, I am excited for it to be my turn to catch up with you. October’s not too terribly far away, right? 🙂 Love ya!

  2. Yes! You should go back and we can be nerds together and talk “spanish” when you come to town. And no, October isn’t that far off…

    Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

Categories

