Posted by: tranalist | November 24, 2008

Back to School

This September I found myself dressing up (ok, not really) and heading off to my first day of class since I graduated from University 2 years ago. I had enrolled in a Spanish class and a Photography class at the local JC to add some enrichment to my life.

One thing I’ve learned is that semesters are LOOOOONG. Good grief. Who ever came up with them had a sick and twisted sense of humor. I come from the Quarter system. Ten short weeks–fast and furious–but over before you can blink. Semesters however…oh my goodness…they go on and on and on.

I ended up dropping my Spanish class to keep my sanity. I was acing the class, but between working full-time, doing the church plant and taking the two classes, I needed to regain a little balance.

I’ve stuck with my photography class though and am really enjoying it. We’re learning the basics of black and white film. Time consuming, but a lot of fun. Here’s some of my work.

Some of my work

Some of my work

Melissa and Rachel have been such a huge help to me. They have posed as models for my assignments more than once. Love them. I’m hoping to take a digital photography class next, cause I’d rather spend hours in Photoshop than hours in the darkroom. I tip my hat to film folk, but I’m definitely a child of technology.

Leave a Reply

Categories

